Thrifty Travels

My name is Cora Davis and I am addicted to thrift shopping. There is nothing quite like looking good for less money. Leaving a thrift store with a good find releases endorphins…Okay so I don’t know how true that is. I just know that finding cute clothes that don’t leave me broke feels pretty darn good.

For a while I just stuck to thrifting back home in El Paso or here in Denton. It never really occurred to me to try stopping by a thrift store while I was out of town. Before I left for school, I took a trip to Alpine,Texas to visit a friend at Sul Ross University. She wanted to go show me a few thrift stores and I discovered it is a thrifty heaven!

The people are there even sweeter than the deals I found. Moral of the story: EXPLORE! If you go on a trip try their thrift stores. Every place has something different to offer because different people are donating to each location. Don’t be afraid to stray away from common places like Goodwill and Savers. I found some pretty cool items from places I never would have visited if my friend hadn’t shared these treasure chests with me.

My Favorite Purchases from Alpine

 photo IMG_1676_zpsa9aff11e.jpg

 photo IMG_1679_zps3d6b1bd2.jpg

 photo IMG_1677_zps50532e01.jpg

This cutie is from Big Bend Thrift Store. It came as an outfit with a matching over top.I would never wear the suit together but I saw potential in the pieces separately. The set was $6 total. At first glance the pattern and length were enticing but I wasn’t too sure about the shape. The dress doesn’t have the best hanger appeal. Try not to be afraid of things that look shapeless on the hanger. Every time I see an item that I’m drawn too but not certain about, I try it on. Although it was not expensive it’s still money you’re spending so make sure you like the fit. If the place doesn’t have a dressing room use your imagination as far as items in your own closet you could use to make it work. For example, a belt from your own closet could take a dress from frumpy to dannnnng girl you look good!

 photo IMG_1146_zps9c60c7ec.jpg
I styled the dress with a black belt, and sandals from my own closet. It’s perfect for a Sunday at church with the girls. If I had judged the dress soley on it’s hanger appeal I would have left a super cute dress behind in the store that day.

This shirt was perfect for that summer to fall transition and is still perfect now that it’s cold. It was only $1.50!

 photo IMG_1687_zps1ac497a9.jpg

 photo IMG_1688_zpsef68e13a.jpg

 photo IMG_0627_zps48bb7e4a.jpg

I paired the top with my favorite light blue high waisted shorts from Forever 21. Now that it’s cold I pair it with a cream colored knitted infinity scarf, dark washed jeans, and brown boots. Cute, Comfy, and Cheap? The three C’s that keep my wallet in check.

Last but certainly not least, I found a black and gold necklace and blue and yellow pattered earrings each for $1.50.

 photo IMG_1699_zps5ca2ca34.jpg

 photo IMG_1098_zpsb5dc3c3d.jpg

Interested in stopping by?

Big Bend Thrift Store:

104 W Avenue

Alpine, TX 79830‎

(432) 837-5599

Deja Vu:

611 East Avenue E

North Phelps St.Alpine, TX

79830(432) 837-1522

Leave a Reply

