Make It So: DIY “Night Sky” Paintings

Hello, my fellow geeks! I’m Emily, and I want to welcome you to my new series here on the GeeKon Record: Make It So! Every couple weeks I’ll be posting a tutorial for a project that you can do to express your personal geekiness.

Here’s what I’ll be showing you today:

To make these simple starry sky paintings, you’ll need:

  • 4 4inX4in canvas boards
  • craft or acrylic paint in black, grey, and metallic silver
  • water
  • a small paintbrush and a larger paintbrush
  • a palette or small cups for mixing

The first thing I did was cover my work surface in newspaper (thank you, NT Daily!). Paint all 4 of your canvas boards black.

(You might need to do more than one coat to get an even color. I did two coats, and I used the larger of my paintbrushes to make this part go faster.)

When they’re all dry, set out my boards in a square so that you can do the next few steps on all 4 of them at once, like so:

And then squeeze a little of your grey paint into a small plastic cup and water it down quite a bit.

You want your paint to be really drippy, because you’ll be splattering it to make stars on your canvases.

Before you start splattering on the canvases, test the consistency of the paint/water mixture by dipping in your paintbrush (this time I used my smaller one) and doing some test splatters on the newspaper (or some scrap paper). To splatter the paint, hold the paintbrush like you would a pencil about half-way up the brush handle and use your pointer finger to tap it and shake off the watered-down paint. When you’ve got the technique and the consistency of the paint down, splatter some grey “stars” across your canvases.

The size and number of your splatters will vary, but leave room for the silver splatters, too!

Let the grey paint dry completely (which may take awhile if any of the blobs are a larger size, so watch Chopped or do some homework or something while you wait) and then repeat the splattering process with the silver paint.

And once the silver is dry, your paintings are ready to display!

I plan to hang mine in my bedroom somewhere – I’m obsessed with space and galaxy prints and these will fit right in. But if you don’t want to (or can’t) hang paintings where you live, I think these would make awesome drink coasters with the addition of some water-proof sealant and a bit of cork or felt on the bottom.

If you make it so with the help of this tutorial, please leave a comment so that I can see what you made. I look forward to bringing you more geeky, crafty projects in the future!

Leave a Reply

